Oreo Cupcakes – A sweet treat for my sweet little birthday boy!
July 10, 2011, 4:41 am
Filed under: baking | Tags: , , ,

My beautiful little boy turned 2 yesterday! Gage is such a special soul. I don’t think there’s anyone who’s met him that didn’t fall in love a little bit.  Gage has an ASD (Autism spectrum disorder) and doesn’t usually like crowds but this birthday was so great for him.  He really took part in the fun and even had a sincere interest in opening his presents. But I have to say, more than anything, he loved his cupcakes! He’s always a sucker for Mama’s cupcakes (and all my other baked goods!)

I set out to make him something extra special, and extra decadent – just the way he likes ’em!

They really came out AMAZING… And so fun to photograph! (Obviously!)

I love these little bitty cupcake bites!

The Oreo baked inside makes these cupcakes extra special but the icing recipe I used is very special to me.

Almost every family birthday party (both immediate and extended) as far back as I can remember had a request for French Icing. Seeing as it’s always been my favorite, I knew right away it would be the icing I’d make for Gage on his birthday! It’s a not-too-sweet lick-your-fingers-clean kinda icing that my family traditionally paired with spice cake at our gatherings but it really is delicious on anything! I stayed true to the original recipe with the exception of adding Oreo crumbs. Delicious! I’m extremely excited to share it and I sincerely hope you try it, with or without the Oreos!

For the cup cakes:

2 cups sugar

2 cups flour

3/4 cups cocoa

1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1 1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 package instant chocolate pudding

3 eggs

1cup sour cream

1/2 cup oil

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

1 cup boiling water (or strong brewed coffee – I would have used this but my coffee maker isn’t working!)

24 Oreo cookies, with one side twisted off and reserved for the frosting.

Preheat oven to 350. Line cupcake pans.

In a large bowl whisk together sugar, flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda, salt and pudding mix. Add oil, eggs sour cream and vanilla. Beat on medium speed until well blended (about 2 minutes) Continue beating while slowly adding in the boiling water. Beat about 30 seconds after adding the water.

Put the Oreo with one side twisted off cream side up and fill cupcake liners about 1/2 way. Bake 15-20 minutes or until a toothpick comes out mostly clean. Let them cool completely on cooling rack.

* I had extra batter after 24 cup cakes. I made cup cake bites using mini Oreos. I also used some mini Oreos as a garnish.

For the icing:

1 cup milk

3/4 cup flour

1/2 cup butter -at room temperature

1/2 cup Crisco

3/4 cup sugar

1 tsp vanilla

24 Oreo cookie tops -crushed

 Place milk in a small saucepan.  Sprinkle the flour over the milk, 1/4 cup at a time and whisk until smooth.  Place the saucepan over low heat and stir constantly until the mixture becomes thick pulls into a ball.  Remove from the heat and put ball into a bowl. Place plastic wrap directly on the surface of the mixture and tuck around it to make sure there is no exposed parts.  Refrigerate until cooled to room temperature or colder (at least 30 minutes). In a large bowl, cream the butter and Crisco.  Add the cooled flour milk mixture and beat until well blended.  Mix in the vanilla.  With the mixer on medium speed, gradually add the sugar and then continue to beat the icing a

fter adding the sugar for an additional 10-12 minutes until noticeably whiter and creamy. Add Oreo crumbs and mix until just blended.

* Visit my wonderful friend at thepurplespoon for great step by step photos making this icing. She modified the recipe some but the basic steps are the same. 🙂

28 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I absolutely love your new sight. Very classy. I can not wait to start making things that you post here. xoxoxoxo

Comment by Anonymous

Aw thanks! Is this someone I know?? 🙂

Comment by confectionink

Very nice, thanks for sharing.

Comment by rental mobil jakarta

Thanks for reading! 🙂

Comment by confectionink

That icing is gorgeous!

Comment by Jessy (squeezetheday)

It’s delicious, too! 🙂

Comment by confectionink

Gorgeous cupcakes! Im sure they went down a total storm 🙂

Comment by Sasha @ The Procrastobaker

Thank you so much! They certainly did! 🙂

Comment by confectionink

Thank you guys so much! I definitely encourage everyone to try this frosting, it really is a fantastic change from the norm, and super easy to work with. 🙂

Comment by confectionink

Wow! I got an idea how to pacify my kids and keep him inside our premise. The oreo alone will give him a glowing eyes, what more when added to that delish cupcakes.

Comment by My Fudo

🙂 My kids sure love them, for sure!

Comment by confectionink

Is it just normal granulated sugar? Or do you use powdered?
It’s really similar to a frosting I make, except I don’t use crisco, I’m very interested in trying your recipe 😀

Comment by Rin

I use regular granulated sugar. I prefer it over powdered sugar, so that’s one of the things that really makes the frosting for me. 🙂

Comment by confectionink

[…] topped them with a double batch of super fluffy French Icing  that I whipped the crap out of  and finished ‘em off with some cute fall inspired leaf […]

Pingback by Spicy Pumpkin Cupcakes « Confection Ink.

I found this recipe and figured my younger brother would love it! And he did! The icing is especially amazing! Thank you so much for sharing! 🙂

Comment by Priscilla

Thanks so much for trying the recipe! I L-O-V-E this icing.. It’s always my go to. So creamy, and not to sweet. 🙂 Glad you enjoyed!

Comment by confectionink

These look absolutely delicious and I plan on making them for my daughter’s birthday. Do they need to be refrigerated at all?

Comment by Melissa

Thank you! Nope, no need to refrigerate! It’s one of the extra bonuses to this amazing frosting! 🙂 (If you WANT to put them in the fridge the frosting does taste phenomenal cold, too!)

Comment by confectionink

Made these yesterday, they were AMAZING!! As my boyfriend put it, “I didn’t know what kind of dessert I was in the mood for, but there couldn’t be anything better than these.” Thanks for the wonderful recipe!

Comment by Sarah

Trying this recipe very soon – in Denmark, Europe! Therefore I need to ask, how much is “1 package of instant chocolate pudding” – and is there a brand, you recommend?

Comment by Signe

One more thing – I have absolutely no idea what Crisco is?! Can someone tell me – or can I make the icing without?

Best regards.

Comment by Signe

The pudding package can be from 1-1.5 ounces. (The pudding makes the cupcakes super moist, but can be omitted 🙂 )
Crisco is just a name brand vegetable shortening. Any good quality vegetable shortening will do. 🙂 I hope you enjoy!

Comment by confectionink

Thank you so much for the recipe. Just made these and my kids LOVED them! It made about 3 dozen so I was able to freeze some too.

Comment by Heidi J

That’s awesome! I’m so glad they loved them! Mine do too 🙂 I have a tendency to make large batches of everything because I love to pass them out. 🙂

Comment by confectionink

hi i have a question. how do you keep the oreo at the bottom from burning/the filling part from drying up? i made these and the cupcake came out amazing but the oreo at the bottom was hard and the cream was burnt/dry.

Comment by Rebecca L

I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought
this post was good. I do not know who you are but definitely you are going to a famous blogger if you
aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

Comment by redtube

Looking for information on Cupcake Recipe Books? Visit my website at
http://www.easycupcakerecipes.net!

Comment by easy cupcake recipe

[…] Oreo Cupcakes by Confection Ink. […]

Pingback by 25 Mouthwatering Oreo Recipes {The Weekly Round Up} | Titicrafty by CamilaTiticrafty by Camila




Leave a Reply

